The CFT makes endorsements in every election after soliciting  a candidate’s positions on issues important to educators, carefully reviewing voting records and conducting extensive interviews. The CFT also analyzes ballot measures on each statewide ballot before making a recommendation.


Statewide Primary Election Endorsements
June 7, 2022

Primary Election with flag images

The CFT interviews candidates to determine those most committed and capable of championing the interests of educators and classified employees locally and in the State Capitol. When the union finds true supporters of member interests, the union endorses them. Our endorsements for the Statewide Primary Election on June 7 are listed below and available as a download. 


CFT endorses Mia Bonta for East Bay Assembly seat
Special Election – August 31, 2021

Election Results: Mia Bonta was elected to the California Assembly.

A special election for Assembly District 18, representing the East Bay of the San Francisco bay region, is currently underway. This seat was vacated earlier this year when the governor appointed Rob Bonta to be California attorney general.

The CFT has endorsed Mia Bonta to be the next assemblymember for this district.


Gavin Newsom for Governor
General Election – November 6, 2018

The CFT has endorsed Gavin Newsom for the state’s top office. Newsom has an impressive track record of public service as the current lieutenant governor of California and the former mayor of San Francisco.

Newsom presents a clear progressive vision for our state anchored by fully funded and supported public schools. He has articulated a willingness to continue local control, hold charter schools accountable, and identify further sources of stable revenue to fund public education and vital social services.