Union Leaders


Union Leaders

Every other year, delegates to the CFT Convention elect the CFT President, Secretary Treasurer and 24 Vice Presidents. The officers and presidents of the CFT division councils comprise the CFT Executive Council.

Post Crystal Drake


Jeffery M. Freitas was elected CFT President in March 2019 after serving as CFT Secretary Treasurer for eight years. A credentialed secondary math teacher, Freitas has advocated on behalf of members for two decades as president of the Carpinteria Association of United School Employees, AFT Local 2216, and as a field representative and lobbyist for the CFT. In his role as CFT President, Freitas also serves as a vice president of the California Labor Federation and the AFT.


Secretary Treasurer

Luukia Smith serves as CFT Secretary Treasurer. Prior to this position, Smith was president of the CFT Council of Classified Employees, representing paraprofessionals and classified employees in the Federation. She also served as president of her local union, the El Camino Classified Employees, AFT Local 6142, for 16 years, representing staff at El Camino College in Torrance.  Smith worked in the accounting department at the college for 30 years. 


Senior Vice President

L. Lacy Barnes, an instructor of psychology at Reedley College is the Senior Vice President of CFT. Barnes, who holds a doctorate, is former president of the State Center Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 1533, representing full-and part-time faculty at Reedley and Fresno City Colleges in the Central Valley.


Vice Presidents

The 24 vice presidents typically hold leadership positions in their local unions, and together they represent the broad spectrum of teachers and support staff represented by the CFT. 


AFT Vice Presidents

Delegates to the biennial AFT Convention elect officers of our national union. Two CFT leaders represent California as vice presidents on the AFT Executive Council.

President, United Teachers Los Angeles, AFT Local 1021
Alex Caputo-Pearl

CFT President
Jeff Freitas


Division Council Leaders

Experienced educators lead each of the CFT’s five division councils. Representatives from constituent local unions of each division elect their council leaders in biennial elections.