Pride of the Union Awards


Pride of the Union Awards
Members honored for outstanding union activism

During the CFT Convention the EC/TK-12 Council presents its popular Pride of the Union Awards.The awards offer a wonderful way to honor active members in local unions. The EC/TK-12 Council encourages local unions to enter and encourages discussion of these awards among local executive boards.

About Nominations

There are five categories in the Pride of the Union Awards that accept nominations. Locals may submit one nomination per category. The council also bestows an honorary award — the Raoul Teilhet Educate, Agitate, Organize Award. The recipient is chosen by the council.

Download the nomination form. The deadline for nominations in 2019 was Friday, February 8.

How to Enter
The nomination form is fillable pdf with a drop-down menu to select each of the five award categories. The pdf needs to be downloaded and opened in Adobe Reader to be filled out electronically and saved. (It cannot be completed in your web browser.)

Please save each nomination form and return them as email attachments to Debra O’Connor. You may also print and fax the nomination forms to 707-762-3403. Or mail hard copies to EC/TK-12 Council, 1301 Redwood Way, Suite 225, Petaluma, CA 94954.

If you have questions about the awards program, email Rico Tamayo, president of the EC/TK-12 Council.

Award Categories

Dedicated Unionist – For that unsung hero in the local who has demonstrated dogged devotion to union principles and union grunt work over the long haul.

Educational Issues – The local may nominate an individual, a program or a school for such accomplishments as innovative curriculum, exemplary instructional techniques, an outstanding education program, restructuring and reform successes, or effective professional development.

Emerging Union Leadership – We are looking for that outstanding new union leader in the local.

Political Involvement – This will go to a local that has demonstrated success in the areas of legislative issues, labor council and coalition involvement, COPE membership, and local elections.

Union Activism – This will be awarded to a CFT local that has demonstrated strong leadership in the area of teacher defense, contract innovation and negotiations, grassroots membership involvement, strong infrastructure, and general excellence.


Pride of the Union Awards

Raoul Teilhet Educate, Agitate, Organize Award

Juan Ramirez, United Teachers Los Angeles

Dedicated Unionist

  • Susan Kitchell, United Educators of San Francisco 
  • Ruben Mancillas, ABC Federation of Teachers
  • Nancy Oliver, Salinas Valley Federation of Teachers
California Teacher CFT Convention

Raoul Teilhet Award: Ray Gaer
ABC Federation of Teachers

Becoming president of the ABC Federation of Teachers after the legendary Laura Rico – known for leading a successful eight-day strike in 1993 and serving as a vice president of the CFT, the AFT and the AFL-CIO simultaneously – meant people had some pretty high expectations of him, said Ray Gaer, current president.

California Teacher CFT Convention

Claytor honored with Raoul Teilhet Award

Kmberly Claytor, the winner of the Raoul Teilhet Educate, Agitate, Organize Award, is a union person in every aspect of her life, said EC/TK-12 Council President Rico Tamayo.

“She’s always there and always a partner for justice and what’s right,” he said, talking about how he’d gotten to know her when they took a class together and Claytor impressed him by always studying. “She’s a dedicated, beautiful person.”