On March 19, Governor Newsom extended COVID-19 Supplemental Paid
Sick Leave to provide California employees with two weeks of paid
sick leave when they cannot work for reasons related to COVID-19.
To qualify, you must work for an employer with 25 or more
employees. This bill applies to both public and private sector
workers. SB 95 takes effect on March 29, 2021, and will be
applied retroactively to January 1, 2021. It expires on September
What does Supplemental Paid Sick Leave provide?
COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave provides
two weeks of fully paid leave, up to $511 per
day. These are in addition to California Paid Sick Days
and to any paid sick leave taken by a worker in 2020.
However, employers are not required to provide this in addition
to paid sick leave under federal or local laws that already meet
these requirements. So, if a locality guarantees workers two
weeks of such leave, as does Los Angeles County, for example,
then that worker is only guaranteed two weeks of leave.
Additionally, if an employer guarantees workers two weeks of such
leave then that worker is only guaranteed two weeks of leave.
Employers who are already giving this leave—and workers who
already have it—do not get an extra two weeks.
How can you use this paid sick leave?
SB 95 provides paid leave if you cannot work or telework because:
- You are subject to a quarantine or isolation order due to
- You were advised by a healthcare provider to quarantine due
to concerns related to COVID-19.
- You are attending an appointment to receive a COVID-19
- You are recovering from symptoms of a COVID-19 vaccine.
- You are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeking a
- You are caring for a family member who has COVID-19, or who
has been advised to self-quarantine.
- You are caring for a child whose school or place of care is
closed or otherwise unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19
on the premises.
When can you take this paid sick leave?
Although it takes effect on March 29, 2021, it applies
retroactively to January 1, 2021. If you already took leave in
2021 for COVID-19, you can ask your employer to pay you for the
time you were out of work, up to 2 weeks. Your employer should
pay you in your next pay period. COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick
Leave will expire on September 30, 2021.
FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, CONTACT:
Young Legislative Representative
Telephone (916) 696-0563
Download the Legislative Update