Negotiating statewide contracts for librarians and lecturers

The University Council-AFT represents non-Senate faculty and librarians working in classrooms, libraries, education programs and professional schools on all 10 UC campuses at the University of California. UC-AFT negotiates statewide contracts for its members, unique among the divisions of CFT.

Since the formation of the union in 1982, UC-AFT has worked to improve wages, working conditions, job security and benefits for members. Today, lecturers have one of the strongest non-Senate faculty contracts in the nation. Yet, the struggle continues for market rate salaries, adequate professional development funding, reasonable workloads, better job security, and ultimately, an equitable system of academic appointments for librarians and teaching faculty at the University of California. UC-AFT has a long history of involvement and cooperation with senate faculty at UC, several hundred of whom have chosen to become members of the union.


Division Officers
University Council-AFT

Mia McIver, President
Los Angeles Chapter

Daniel Schoorl, Vice President for Legislation
Los Angeles Chapter

Katie Arosteguy, Vice President for Grievances
Davis Chapter

Josh Brahinsky, Vice President for Organizing
Santa Cruz Chapter

Kendra Levine, Vice President for Unit 17
Bay Area Chapter

Tiffany Page, Vice President for Unit 18
Bay Area Chapter

Miki Goral, Secretary Treasurer
Los Angeles Chapter

For issues about contract administration on your campus, please contact your local staff representatives. 

Mailing address: 11728 Wilshire Blvd., Suite B1007, Los Angeles, CA 90025

University Council-AFT Constitution governs the division.