In a friendly competition with state and regional labor groups around the nation, the CFT won 11 awards from the International Labor Communications Association.

The awards show that content is still king. The CFT website won First Place in “best electronic content” for the third year in a row. Seven member-based stories won awards, with four claiming First Place honors.

You can see the list of full winners on the ILCA website to put our communications success in context. The CFT awards are listed below.

CFT website wins best content three years in a row!
First Place
Best Electronic Content
With content by CFT staff, members, officers and numerous other contributors

Special Education in Crisis — A CFT Special Report
First Place (2)
Best Feature Story
Best Analysis

With reporting and writing by Emily Wilson, CFT Reporter

“Let’s have our voices count!” urge CFT Black leaders
First Place
Best News Story
With reporting and writing by David Bacon, CFT Reporter

How Peralta won the first pay parity in California community colleges
First Place
Saul Miller Awards – Collective Bargaining
With reporting and writing by Geoff Johnson, AFT Guild, Local 1931

What I did to help win in Election 2020: Five retirees recount their extraordinary efforts
Second Place
Saul Miller Awards – Political Action
By Marty Bennett, Sandy Baringer, Ann Killebrew, Dennis Cox and Paul Karrer

Paul da Silva became the candidate he wanted to see
Third Place
Best Profile
With reporting and writing by Emily Wilson, CFT Reporter

Thousands of UC lecturers organize for job rights, fair salaries
Third Place
Saul Miller Awards – Organizing
With reporting and writing by Steve Weingarten, CFT Reporter

“Let’s have our voices count!” urge CFT Black leaders
Third Place
Best Photo Essay or Gallery
With photographs by David Bacon

CFT Convention Call – Rise Up, Recover, Rebuild
Third Place
Best Design – Single-Issue Publication (Print)
Graphic design by Dustin Avilla

CFT United
Honorable Mention
General Excellence – Electronic Publication
Coronavirus Heroes issue by the CFT Officers and Editorial Team; Jane Hundertmark, Editor