Statewide General Election Endorsements
November 8, 2022


2022 elections

The CFT interviews candidates to determine those most committed and capable of championing the interests of educators and classified employees locally and in the State Capitol. When the union finds true supporters of member interests, the union endorses them. Our endorsements for the General Election on November 8 are listed below, available as a single-page download, and available through our online voter guide. 


  • Last day to register to vote: October 24. Register to vote online. 
  • Vote-by-mail ballots: All California active registered voters will receive a vote-by-mail ballot. Your county elections office will begin mailing ballots no later than October 10.
  • Mailed ballots: Must be postmarked on or before November 8 and received by your county elections office no later than November 15. 
  • Personally delivered ballots: Must be delivered by close of polls on November 8 to your local polling place or a ballot drop-off box. Find your local polling place here.
  • On November 8, polls are open: 7 am to 8 pm. 
  • Learn more from the California Secretary of State.


Gavin Newsom*

Lieutenant Governor
Eleni Kounalakis*

Superintendent of Public Instruction
Tony Thurmond* (See our full endorsement)

Attorney General
Rob Bonta*

Fiona Ma*

Secretary of State
Shirley Weber*

Malia Cohen

Insurance Commissioner
Ricardo Lara*

Board of Equalization – District 2
Sally Lieber

Board of Equalization – District 3
Anthony Vazquez*

  • Incumbents are marked with an asterisk (*)
  • Dual endorsements are marked with a plus sign (+)

Paid for by California Federation of Teachers COPE and California Federation of Teachers COPE Prop/Ballot Committee. Not authorized by a candidate or a committee controlled by a candidate.


Prop 1    YES   Enshrine right to abortion

Prop 26  NEUTRAL   Tribal betting

Prop 27  NO   Corporate sports betting

Prop 28  YES   Arts and music

Prop 29  NEUTRAL  Dialysis

Prop 30  NO   Lyft charging stations

Prop 31  YES   Flavored tobacco ban


State Senate

SD 2      Mike McGuire*

SD 4     Tim Robertson

SD 6      Paula Villescaz

SD 8       Dave Jones

SD 10     Aisha Wahab

SD 14     Anna Caballero*

SD 16     Melissa Hurtado*

SD 18     Steve Padilla

SD 20     Caroline Menjivar

SD 24      Ben Allen*

SD 26      Maria Elena Durazo*

SD 28      Lola Smallwood-Cuevas             

SD 30      Bob Archuleta*

SD 34      Thomas Umberg* 

SD 36       Kim Carr      

SD 38       Catherine Blakespear

SD 40       Joseph Rocha

State Assembly

AD 2      Jim Wood*            

AD 4      Cecilia Aguiar-Curry*

AD 6       Kevin McCarty*

AD 10      Eric Guerra

AD 11      Lori Wilson

AD 12      Damon Connolly

AD 14      Buffy Wicks*

AD 16      Rebecca Bauer-Kahan*

AD 17       Matt Haney*

AD 18      Mia Bonta*

AD 19      Phil Ting*

AD 20      Liz Ortega

AD 22      Jessica Self

AD 23      Marc Berman*

AD 24      Alex Lee*

AD 25      Ash Kalra*

AD 26      Evan Low*

AD 28      Gail Pellerin

AD 29      Robert Rivas*

AD 30      Dawn Addis

AD 31      Joaquin Arambula*

AD 33      Jose Sigala

AD 35     Leticia Perez

AD 36      Eduardo Garcia*

AD 37      Gregg Hart

AD 38      Steve Bennett*

AD 39      Juan Carrillo

AD 40      Pilar Schiavo

AD 41      Chris Holden*

AD 42      Jacqui Irwin*

AD 43      Luz Rivas*

AD 44      Laura Friedman*

AD 45      James Ramos*

AD 46      Jesse Gabriel*

AD 47      Christy Holstege

AD 48      Blanca Rubio*

AD 49      Mike Fong*

AD 50      Eloise Gómez Reyes*

AD 51      Rick Chavez Zbur

AD 52      Wendy Carrillo*

AD 53      Freddie Rodriguez*

AD 54      Miguel Santiago*

AD 55      Isaac Bryan*

AD 56      Lisa Calderon*

AD 57      Reginald Jones-Sawyer*

AD 58      Sabrina Cervantes*

AD 61      Tina McKinnor*

AD 62      Anthony Rendon*

AD 63      Fauzia Rivzi

AD 64      Blanca Pacheco

AD 65      Mike Gipson*

AD 66       Al Muratsuchi*

AD 68       Avelino Valencia

AD 69       Josh Lowenthal

AD 70       Diedre Thu-Ha Nguyen

AD 72      Judie Mancuso

AD 73      Cottie Petrie-Norris*

AD 74      Chris Duncan

AD 76      Brian Maienschein*

AD 77      Tasha Boerner Horvath*

AD 78      Christopher Ward*

AD 80      Georgette Gomez


U.S. Senate

Alex Padilla*

U.S. House of Representatives

CD 2        Jared Huffman*

CD 3        Kermit Jones

CD 4        Mike Thompson*

CD 6        Ami Bera*

CD 7        Doris Matsui*

CD 8        John Garamendi*

CD 9        Josh Harder*

CD 10      Mark DeSaulnier*  

CD 11      Nancy Pelosi*  

CD 12      Barbara Lee*  

CD 14      Eric Swalwell*

CD 15     Kevin Mullin*

CD 16      Anna Eshoo*

CD 17      Ro Khanna*

CD 18      Zoe Lofgren*  

CD 19      Jimmy Panetta*

CD 20      Marisa Wood

CD 21      Jim Costa*

CD 22      Rudy Salas*

CD 24      Salud Carbajal*

CD 25      Raul Ruiz*

CD 26      Julia Brownley*

CD 27      Christy Smith

CD 28      Judy Chu*

CD 29      Tony Cardenas*

CD 30      Adam Schiff*

CD 31      Grace Napolitano*

CD 32      Brad Sherman*

CD 33      Pete Aguilar*

CD 34      Jimmy Gomez*

CD 35      Norma Torres*

CD 36      Ted Lieu*

CD 37      Sydney Kamlager

CD 38      Linda Sanchez*

CD 39      Mark Takano*

CD 40      Asif Mahmood

CD 41      Will Rollins

CD 42      Robert Garcia

CD 43      Maxine Waters*

CD 44      Nanette Barragan*

CD 45      Jay Chen

CD 46      Lou Correa*

CD 47      Katie Porter*

CD 49      Mike Levin*

CD 51      Sara Jacobs*

CD 52      Juan Vargas*