Adam Siegel, UC Davis librarian and grievance steward for Local 2023 was awarded a $12,500 grant from the National Endowment for the Arts to translate a contemporary Russian work of fiction into English. Siegel, a translator of numerous languages, will use the grant to translate Vasilii Golovanov’s The Island: or, A Justification for Meaningless Travels.

Eric Wilcox, English teacher at Balboa High School and member of United Educators of San Francisco, Local 61, was awarded one of the five 2014 Carlston Family Foundation Outstanding Teachers of America Awards. Wilcox was nominated by a grateful former student.

Beth Landry and Nancy Boehm, Greater Santa Cruz Federation of Teachers, Local 2030, published a book called ABC Move With Me! Teaching Letter Sounds Through Movement to the Very Young. This unique book has parents say the sounds the letters make instead of the letter names, and combines vibrant images and motion.

Steve Hall and Debra Stakes were named Labor Leaders of the Year by the Tri-Counties Central Labor Council. Hall is president of the Ventura County Federation of College Teachers, Local 1828. Stakes is president of the Cuesta College Federation of Teachers, Local 4909, in San Luis Obispo.

Barbara Owens, Tamalpais Federation of Teachers, Local 1985, was recognized by State Superintendent Tom Torlakson for outstanding dedication. Owens has represented the CFT for 13 years at the School Attendance Review Board, which provides a safety net for students with persistent attendance or behavior problems.

Dean Murakami, president of the Los Rios College Federation of Teachers, Local 2279, was honored with the Labor Ambassador Award from the Sacramento Central Labor Council.