Linda McAllister, a sociology instructor at Berkeley City College and member of the Peralta Federation of Teachers, Local 1603, was one of four professors honored by the California Community Colleges Board of Governors with a Gerald C. Hayward Award for Excellence in Education, a designation that comes with $1,250. McAllister has sought access for traditionally underserved student populations, and piloted a program to recruit recent community college graduates with masters’ degrees to teach in the community colleges. She also developed curriculum, scheduling, and degree alignment so working adults could meet their degree goals.

Mike Terman, a CFT field representative and member of Local 8004, was named a Labor Leader of the Year by the Tri-Counties Central Labor Council. Terman has assisted AFT local unions by negotiating strong contracts and administering them in the Ventura County region for nearly 20 years. He shared the honor with Congresswoman Lois Capps.

Meghann Hayes, Stephen Leeper and Norman Zelaya, members of United Educators of San Francisco, Local 61, star in a video on the pitfalls and rewards of teaching in our public schools. The video has been viewed more than 25 million times on AJ+, an online version of the Al Jazeera network. View the video online

Sharon Hendricks, a communication studies instructor at Los Angeles City College and member of the Los Angeles College Faculty Guild, Local 1521, was honored for her statewide advocacy work as a co-recipient of the John Vasconcellos Advocate of the Year award for 2016 from the Faculty Association of California Community Colleges. Hendricks was elected in 2011 to the CalSTRS Retirement Board where she serves as board vice chair and Investment Committee chair. She is also a leader on the AFT Trustee Council.