

California Federation of Teachers American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, March 20, 2013 Contact: Steve Hopcraft, 916/457-5546; steve@hopcraft.com Fred Glass, 510/ 579-3343; fglasscft@gmail.com

California Federation of Teachers Re-Elects Top Leadership Team at Annual Convention

Sacramento - CFT President Joshua Pechthalt, Secretary-Treasurer Jeff Freitas, and Senior Vice-President Lacy Barnes were re-elected by acclamation in an election held at the CFT's 71st annual convention - a solid show of support for the policies pursued over the past two years by the leadership team.

"It's gratifying to know that CFT members overwhelmingly support our union's efforts to help restore funding to California public schools. The CFT's work on shaping and passing Prop 30 last year was a watershed moment for the organization," said Pechthalt. "But we know more needs to be done to bring California schools back to the level of funding and excellence we enjoyed back in the 1960s. Our convention delegates also made clear they agree with our efforts to build grass roots support for a true parent-educator vision of quality public education. Elected officials and corporate leaders who are pushing their one-size-fits-all, test-driven, market reforms in education need to know that there is real opposition to their agenda emerging across the country."

In CFT Division Council elections, Paula Phillips, president of the Berkeley Council of Classified Employees, AFT Local 6192, was elected president of the statewide Council of Classified Employees, and Jim Mahler, president of the AFT Guild, San Diego and Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community Colleges, Local 1931, was elected the top officer of the statewide Community College Council, replacing Carl Friedlander, who chose not to run again. Gary Ravani of Petaluma was re-elected president of the EC/K-12 Council. The new Executive Council of the CFT consists of the above listed officers, plus the following Vice-presidents:

Velma J. Butler, Local 1521A Cathy Campbell, Local 1078 Robert Chacanaca, Local 6084 Kimberly Claytor, Local 1794 Melinda Dart, Local 3267 Warren Fletcher, Local 1021 Betty Forrester, Local 1021 Ray Gaer, Local 2317 Miki Goral, Local UC-AFT Carolyn Ishida, Local 2071 Kathy Jasper, Local 957 Dennis Kelly, Local 61 Elaine Merriweather, Local 61 Alisa Messer, Local 2121 David Mielke Local 1343 Dean Murakami, Local 2279 Francisco Rodriguez, Local 1936 Linda Sneed, Local 2279 Joanne Waddell, Local 1521 Carl Williams, Local 4529 Kent Wong, Local UC-AFT David Yancey, Local 6157

For more information about the CFT convention, go to www.cft.org.