General Election 2016
CFT endorses Hillary Clinton for U.S. President, Kamala Harris for U.S. Senate


The AFT and the CFT have endorsed Hillary Clinton for President of the United States. In vision, experience and leadership, she is the candidate we need in the White House. Clinton is a tested leader who has fought for the issues most important to AFT members and our communities as a U.S. Senator from New York with a 100 percent AFT voting record, and as U.S. Secretary of State.

As president, Clinton will fight to ensure a stronger, fairer economy that works for everyone, not just those at the top, while advancing racial justice and equity for all. She will fight for strong public schools; to make higher education free for more students; to protect and build on the Affordable Care Act; and to to safeguard our retirement security and the right of strong unions to bargain collectively.

Kamala Harris is the educators’ choice

For the first time in 24 years Californians will fill an open U.S. Senate seat and the CFT has endorsed Attorney General Kamala Harris for that office. As the state’s top attorney, Harris has taken the lead on issues important to educators, working to reduce elementary school truancy and set young students on the path to educational success. She created the Bureau of Children’s Justice to protect our state’s youth. And she fought the big banks during the foreclosure crisis to defend the communities in which we live and work.

Read more about CFT’s top endorsements in California Teacher.

Your vote for progressives is important

In California, several progressive candidates are in tight races for legislative seats. If you live in these regions, your vote for these education-friendly candidates is particularly important.


  • District 3 Mariko Yamada
  • District 9 Nancy Skinner
  • District 11 Jane Kim
  • District 15 Jim Beall
  • District 25 Anthony Portantino
  • District 35 Warren Furutani


  • District 14 Mae Torlakson
  • District 27 Ash Kalra
  • District 30 Karina Cervantez Alejo
  • District 43 Ardy Kassakhian
  • District 65 Sharon Quirk-Silva

Union endorsements online and in print

Get endorsements on your phone, tailored to your local ballot, from The Educators Choice online voter guide.

Download the CFT Endorsement Sheet containing the union’s recommendations for Congressional and California legislative races, or find them here in our Endorsements section. 


Hillary Clinton


Kamala Harris


CD 2 Jared Huffman*

CD 4 Bob Derlet

CD 5 Mike Thompson*

CD 6 Doris Matsui*

CD 9 Jerry McNerney*

CD 10 Michael Eggman

CD 11 Mark DeSaulnier*

CD 12 Nancy Pelosi*

CD 13 Barbara Lee*

CD 14 Jackie Speier*

CD 15 Eric Swalwell*

CD 17 Mike Honda*

CD 18 Anna Eshoo*

CD 19 Zoe Lofgren*

CD 20 Jimmy Panetta

CD 21 Emilio Huerta

CD 24 Salud Carbajal

CD 25 Bryan Caforio

CD 27 Judy Chu*

CD 28 Adam Schiff*

CD 29 Tony Cárdenas*

CD 30 Brad Sherman*

CD 32 Grace Napolitano*

CD 33 Ted Lieu*

CD 34 Xavier Becerra*

CD 35 Norma Torres*

CD 37 Karen Bass*

CD 38 Linda Sánchez*

CD 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard*

CD 41 Mark Takano*

CD 43 Maxine Waters*

CD 44 Isadore Hall, III

CD 47 Alan Lowenthal*

CD 51 Juan Vargas*

CD 53 Susan Davis*


SD 3 Mariko Yamada

SD 5 Cathleen Galgiani*

SD 9 Nancy Skinner

SD 11 Jane Kim

SD 13 Jerry Hill*

SD 15 Jim Beall*

SD 17 Bill Monning*

SD 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson*

SD 21 Johnathon Ervin

SD 25 Anthony Portantino

SD 27 Henry Stern

SD 29 Josh Newman

SD 31 Richard Roth*

SD 33 Ricardo Lara*

 SD 35 Warren Furutani

 SD 39 Toni Atkins


AD 2 Jim Wood*

AD 3 Edward Ritchie

AD 7 Kevin McCarty*

AD 8 Ken Cooley*

AD 9 Jim Cooper*

AD 11 Jim Frazier, Jr.*

AD 13 Susan Eggman*

AD 14 Mae Torlakson

AD 15 Tony Thurmond*

AD 16 Cheryl Cook-Kallio

AD 17 David Chiu*

AD 18 Rob Bonta*

AD 19 Phil Ting*

AD 20 Bill Quirk*

AD 21 Adam Gray*

AD 22 Kevin Mullin*

AD 25 Kansen Chu*

AD 27 Ash Kalra

AD 28 Evan Low*

AD 29 Mark Stone*

AD 30 Karina Cervantez Alejo

AD 31 Joaquin Arambula

AD 32 Rudy Salas*

AD 35 Dawn Ortiz-Legg

AD 37 Monique Limón

AD 38 Christy Smith

AD 40 Abigail Medina

AD 41 Chris Holden*

AD 42 Greg Rodriguez

AD 43 Ardy Kassakhian

AD 44 Jacqui Irwin*

AD 45 Matt Dababneh*

AD 46 Adrin Nazarian*

AD 47 Cheryl Brown*

AD 48 Blanca Rubio

AD 49 Edwin Chau*

AD 50 Richard Bloom*

AD 51 Jimmy Gomez*

AD 52 Freddie Rodriguez*

AD 53 Miguel Santiago*

AD 54 Sebastian Ridley-Thomas*

AD 57 Ian Calderon*

AD 58 Cristina Garcia*

AD 59 Reginald Jones-Sawyer*

AD 60 Sabrina Cervantes

AD 61 Jose Medina*

AD 63 Anthony Rendon*

AD 64 Michael Gipson*

AD 65 Sharon Quirk-Silva

AD 66 Al Muratsuchi

AD 69 Tom Daly*

AD 70 Patrick O’Donnell*

AD 77 Melinda Vasquez

AD 78 Todd Gloria

AD 79 Shirley Weber*

AD 80 Lorena Gonzalez*


Proposition 53 – No

Proposition 54 – No

Proposition 55 – Yes

Proposition 57 – Yes

Proposition 58 – Yes

Proposition 59 – Yes

Proposition 62 – Yes

Proposition 63 – Yes

Proposition 66 – No

Paid for by California Federation of Teachers COPE and California Federation of Teachers COPE Prop./Ballot Committee. Not authorized by a candidate or a committee controlled by a candidate.