Our Endorsements

The CFT makes endorsements in every election after soliciting  a candidate’s positions on issues important to educators, carefully reviewing voting records and conducting extensive interviews. The CFT also analyzes ballot measures on each statewide ballot before making a recommendation. Here are our recommendations for November 3.


CFT Endorsements for November 3
Make your voice heard in General Election 2020


  • NEW! Check your voter status
    Find out if you are registered to vote on this new state website.
  • NEW! Ballots mailed to every registered voter — OCTOBER 5
    On May 8, Gov. Newsom announced that every registered voter will receive a mail-in ballot for the November 3 election. There will also be safe in-person voting options.
  • NEW! Early voting and vote-by-mail drop-off locations
    Find locations near you where early voters may pick up and/or vote a vote-by-mail ballot, and locations of secured boxes where vote-by-mail ballots may be dropped off.
  • NEW! Sign up to track your ballot
    Go to Where’s My Ballot? a new way for voters to track and receive notifications on the status of their vote-by-mail ballot.
  • Deadline to register to vote — OCTOBER 19
    Register to vote online with the Secretary of State.
  • Deadline to request a vote-by-mail ballot — OCTOBER 27
    Go to your county elections office in person to request and receive a vote-by-mail ballot if you do not receive a ballot in the mail. Or call the Secretary of State’s Voter Hotline at (800) 345-8683 for your county elections official’s contact information.
  • Deadline to return vote-by-mail ballots — NOVEMBER 3
    Your vote-by-mail ballot must be postmarked on or before November 3, and received by your county elections office no later than November 6. You may also deliver your ballot to your local polling place on November 3 before polls close, or to any of the secured boxes for vote-by-mail ballots.
  • Poll hours on NOVEMBER 3: From 7 am to 8 pm


Download the CFT Endorsement Sheet containing the union’s recommendations for statewide legislative races and ballot measures on a single page. You may also find the union’s endorsements listed below. Incumbents are labeled with an (*). 


Schools & Communities First

When it passes, Prop 15 will reform decades-old tax law that allows corporations to avoid paying property taxes at fair market value, resulting in public education and community services losing $7 to $12 billion each year from uncollected corporate property taxes. Prop 15 will correct this inequity, while also protecting homeowners and renters, small businesses, and agricultural property.
Summary analysis from the California Labor Federation


Repeal of Proposition 209 
A ”yes” vote supports this constitutional amendment to repeal Proposition 209 (1996), which prohibited the state from discriminating against or granting preferential treatment to persons on the basis of race, sex, color, ethnicity, or national origin in public employment, public education, and public contracting.
Summary analysis from the California Labor Federation


NO | PROP 22
Uber/Lyft Challenge to AB 5
A ”no” vote opposes this ballot initiative, meaning California Assembly Bill 5 (2019) could be used to decide whether app-based drivers are employees or independent contractors.
Summary analysis from the California Labor Federation


YES | PROP 25  
Replace cash bail with risk assessment
A “yes” vote upholds the contested legislation, Senate Bill 10, which would replace cash bail with risk assessments for detained suspects awaiting trials.
Summary analysis from the California Labor Federation


SD 3          Bill Dodd*

SD 5          Susan Eggman

SD 9          Nancy Skinner*

SD 13        Josh Becker

SD 15        David Cortese

SD 17        John Laird

SD 19        Monique Limon

SD 21        Kipp Mueller

SD 23        Abigail Medina

SD 25        Anthony Portantino*

SD 27        Henry Stern*

SD 29        Josh Newman

SD 31        Richard Roth*

SD 33        Lena Gonzalez*

SD 35        Steven Bradford*

SD 37        Dave Min

SD 39        Toni Atkins*


AD 1          Elizabeth Betancourt

AD 2          Jim Wood*

AD 4          Cecelia Aguilar-Curry*

AD 6          Jackie Smith

AD 7          Kevin McCarty*

AD 13        Kathy Miller

AD 14        Tim Grayson*

AD 15        Buffy Wicks*

AD 16        Rebecca Bauer-Kahan*

AD 17        David Chiu*

AD 18        Rob Bonta*

AD 19        Phil Ting*

AD 20        Bill Quirk*

AD 21        Adam Gray*

AD 22        Kevin Mullin*

AD 24        Marc Berman*

AD 25        Alex Lee

AD 26        Drew Phelps

AD 27        Ash Kalra*

AD 28        Evan Low*

AD 29        Mark Stone*

AD 30        Robert Rivas*

AD 31        Joaquin Arambula*

AD 32        Rudy Salas Jr.*

AD 35        Dawn Addis

AD 37        Steve Bennett

AD 39        Luz Rivas*

AD 40        James Ramos*

AD 41        Chris Holden*

AD 43        Laura Friedman*

AD 44        Jacqui Irwin*

AD 45        Jesse Gabriel*

AD 46        Adrin Nazarian*

AD 47        Eloise Gómez Reyes*

AD 49        Ed Chau*

AD 50        Richard Bloom*

AD 51        Wendy Carrillo*

AD 52        Freddie Rodriguez*

AD 53        Miguel Santiago*

AD 54        Sydney Kamlager-Dove*

AD 55        Andrew Rodriguez

AD 56        Eduardo Garcia*­

AD 57        Lisa Calderon*

AD 58        Cristina Garcia*

AD 59        Reginald Jones-Sawyer*

AD 60        Sabrina Cervantes*

AD 61        Jose Medina*

AD 62        Autumn Burke*

AD 63        Anthony Rendon*

AD 64        Mike Gipson*

AD 65        Sharon Quirk-Silva*

AD 66        Al Muratsuchi*

AD 68        Melissa Fox

AD 69        Tom Daly*

AD 70        Patrick O’Donnell*

AD 72        Diedre Nguyen

AD 73        Scott Rhinehart

AD 74        Cottie Petrie-Norris*

AD 76        Tasha Boerner-Horvath*

AD 77        Brian Maienschein*

AD 78        Chris Ward

AD 80        Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher*


CD 2         Jared Huffman*

CD 3         John Garamendi*

CD 4         Brynne Kennedy

CD 5         Mike Thompson*

CD 6         Doris Matsui*

CD 8         Chris Bubser

CD 9         Jerry McNerney*

CD 10      Josh Harder*

CD 11       Mark DeSaulnier*

CD 12       Nancy Pelosi*

CD 13       Barbara Lee*

CD 14       Jackie Speier*

CD 15       Eric Swalwell*

CD 17       Ro Khanna*

CD 18       Anna Eshoo*

CD 19       Zoe Lofgren*

CD 20       Jimmy Panetta*

CD 21       TJ Cox*

CD 24       Salud Carbajal*

CD 25       Christy Smith

CD 26       Julia Brownley*

CD 27       Judy Chu*

CD 28       Adam Schiff*

CD 29       Tony Cardenas*

CD 30       Brad Sherman*

CD 31       Pete Aguilar*

CD 32       Grace Napolitano*

CD 33       Ted Lieu* 

CD 34       Jimmy Gomez*

CD 36       Raul Ruiz*

CD 37       Karen Bass*

CD 38       Linda Sanchez*

CD 39       Gil Cisneros*

CD 40       Lucille Roybal-Allard*

CD 41       Mark Takano*

CD 43       Maxine Waters*

CD 44       Nanette Barragan*

CD 45       Katie Porter*

CD 46       Lou Correa*

CD 47       Alan Lowenthal*

CD 48       Harley Rouda*

CD 49       Mike Levin*

CD 53       Georgette Gomez

Paid for by California Federation of Teachers COPE. Not authorized by a candidate or a committee controlled by a candidate.